Archive for the ‘Books’ Category

Gone - Michael Grant

Monday, June 9th, 2008

In a flash, your life can change forever.
Something bizarre has happened in the town of San Perdido. In a flash,
everyone over the age of fourteen has disappeared. Poof. Gone. A strange
impenetrable force field encircles the town, and as the stranded kids
struggle to survive on their own, they discover that some of them are
developing new talents-unimaginable, dangerous, deadly powers-that grow
stronger by the day. And unfortunately, not all the kids with these
new-found powers are good.

“This intense, marvelously plotted, paced, and characterized story will
immediately garner comparisons to Lord of the Flies, or even the
long-playing world shifts of Stephen King, with just a dash of X-Men for
good measure. A potent mix of action and thoughtfulness-centered around good
and evil, courage and cowardice-renders this a tour-de-force that will leave
readers dazed, disturbed, and utterly breathless. Grant’s novel is
presumably the first in a series, and while many will want to scream when
they find out the end is not the end, they’ll be glad there’s more in
store.” …… review


Now for my review - and MD’s - ——- WONDERFUL! This book is awesome. Neither of us could put it down. I won’t give it away, but I wasn’t disappointed with any of it. Great book.


The Chronicles Of Narnia: Prince Caspian Movie Tie-In Edition

Thursday, April 24th, 2008


In THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA: PRINCE CASPIAN movie tie-in EDITION readers can experience Narnia in a collectible edition featuring an 8-page, fold-out insert based on C. S. Lewis’s own timeline conceived for Narnia.This special full-color timeline, recreated from C. S. Lewis’s original and paired with Pauline Baynes’ classic full-color illustrations for the first time, provides the key to the passage of time in Narnia and Earth by laying the two worlds side by side. Never before has C. S. Lewis’s timeline been included in a complete edition of all seven books of Narnia.

In April 2008 NARNIA CHRONOLOGY: From the Archives of the Last King, an interactive version of The Chronicles of Narnia will be released. The Chronology will include pop-ups, gatefolds, pull tabs and many other exciting features to tell the stories in a sweeping linear format as C. S. Lewis imagined it.


Took me awhile to have time to read this, but I’m glad I did. I wasn’t into Narnia that much before, but now both MD and I AND MB4 are reading the books. And the little ones loved the pop up book. It’s beautiful.